M.Sc. Biotechnology

The Department of Biotechnology was established in the year 2008. The department vision is to attain greater heights in Biotechnology research, shaping biotechnology into a premier precision tool of the future. The main objective of starting this department is to cater to the needs of local students by offering different courses in the areas of Biotechnology and also with an aim of meeting the technological needs of various industries in the field of Biotechnology. The department provides quality education in pursuit of knowledge, that establishes a strong foundation for understanding developments in the rapidly advancing field of biotechnology with the development of new technologies through research and education. The department offers a two-year course on M.Sc. Biotechnology, M.Sc. Zoology and M.Sc. Botany with an intake of 30 students with thrust areas such as Molecular Biology, Biotechnology, Environmental Biotechnology, Animal Biotechnology, Agricultural Biotechnology, Microbial Biotechnology, and Cancer Biology. M.Sc. Biotechnology is of four-semester duration with all the important thrust areas. Admissions into the M.Sc. and Ph.D. programs are based on the entrance examination conducted by the University and RCET conducted by APSCHE. The faculty members of the department are engaged in the research areas of Molecular Microbiology, Fungal Biotechnology, Enzyme biochemistry, and environmental Biotechnology.