Department of Biosciences & Biotechnology (BSBT)

Dr. L. Suseela

Head of the Department


The Department of Biotechnology was established as a regular course in the year 2008-09, the inception year. The main objective of starting the Department is to cater to the needs of students by offering different courses in the areas of Biotechnology and also with an aim of meeting technological needs of various industries in the field of Biotechnology.

The department offers two year course on M.Sc. Biotechnology with an intake of 30 students with thrust areas such as Molecular Biology, Biotechnology, Environmental Biotechnology, Animal Biotechnology, Agricultural Biotechnology, Microbial Biotechnology and Cancer Biology. M.Sc. Biotechnology is of four semester duration with all the important thrust areas. The Department is also offering M.Sc (Botany) and M.Sc (Zoology) programmes with an intake of 30 students from the academic years 2013-14 and 2014-15 respectively. Admissions into the M.Sc. programmes are based on Krishna University Common Entrance Test (KRUCET) conducted every year. The Department of Biosciences and Biotechnology also offers research programme leading to award of full-time and part-time M.Phil and Ph.D., programmes from the academic year 2009-10. Admissions into the research programees are based on the Andhra Pradesh Research Common Entrance Test (APRCET) organized by Andhra Pradesh State Council of Higher Education (APSCHE). The faculty members of the department are engaged in the research areas of Molecular Microbiology, Fungal Biotechnology, Enzyme Biochemistry and Environmental Biotechnology.

Its faculty members have made notable contributions in the field of science by obtaining seven major research projects from the reputed funding agencies viz. Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Department of Science and Technology (DST), Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB), Govt. of India. The faculty of this department is actively engaged in teaching and research since its inception and published more than 300 research papers in various National & International journals of high repute and has awarded four Ph.D. degrees and one M.Phil. degree so far. The department also organized three conferences/seminars/symposia sponsored by Department of Science and Technology (DST), Andhra Pradesh State Council of Higher Education (APSCHE), Ministry of Environment, Forests, and Climatic Change (MOEF), The Andhra Pradesh State Council of Science and Technology (APCOST), Andhra Pradesh Pollution Control Board (APPCB), National Remote Sensing Centre (NRSC)  etc. The faculty members have received several awards from National agencies for their contribution at the individual level. The alumni of this department occupied high positions in teaching, research and scientific organizations spread over India and abroad.